“Suicide is a Cheater” by Ahmed Guillermo-Letrondo (In honor of the Great Comedian)

Suicide is a Cheater.

 

It never brings you to hell, unbelief does but it will cheat you of what God has planned for your life. It’s a blindfold of the devil that covers your eyes and prevents you from looking and experiencing the grace of God and His wonderful love.

 

Depression is hard to deal, it is beyond the feeling of sadness, loneliness and the feeling of you-do-not-belong-here. It is depression.

 

When you are depressed, you stop to enjoy life, you stop to look at the brighter side of every simple thing, for you, life is worthless, life is simply something that could be placed in a box and use it for a span of time but there’s more to life than what you can really think – there’s more to life.

 

Last week, one of my favorite actors in Hollywood took his own life because of depression, he made the world laughs out loud every time he opened his mouth, he touched every soul and even made the eyes burst into tears but he never made himself happy – for in a man’s soul is sorrow without the Living Christ.

 

When I was a teenager, I thought killing myself would be an answer for me to be recognized, missed, remembered and even adored. I would think, that when I would be dead they would tell me the good things I did while I was alive but I guess, I have made the right choice – I chose to live.

 

I chose to live for I knew that it would hurt my parents to see me in a coffin at a very young age, I thought, my life was worthless, I thought they never cared and I thought they would never appreciate my existence but they did and they do.

 

I chose to live for I realized that God would give me the opportunities to live accordingly and according to what He has planned in my life – I thought God never heard my prayers.

 

I chose to live for I accepted that my past will never correct itself from its own mistakes but there’s a hope that my life in the future is being held by the Almighty God, my Savior and my Redeemer.

 

I chose to live for I saw that there’s more to life than what pleasure can give me.

 

I chose to live because God says in His word, “For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, saith the LORD, thoughts of peace, and not of evil, to give you an expected end.”

 

If there’s an “expected end” planned by God, taking our own lives would never be a sufficient answer to Him but giving our lives to Him as Living Sacrifices would be an acceptable and reasonable service to Him.

 

If there’s an “expected end” planned by God, why make ourselves unproductive; why make ourselves boring – why not go out and live your life with a purpose and for a purpose.

 

Make others laugh, smile, touch others heart and make them cry in gladness.

Make the simple things special for little kids around you, sing a song to someone in sorrow, call someone who misses a friend and be a friend.

 

A day with love is like a lifetime of happiness – make every second count.

 

If there’s an “expected end” planned by God, that only means that we cannot actually trust our own intuition of doing things or accomplishing a lot but our lives are on the hands of God who can make our messed-up-life better than what we could think of.

 

“And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to His purpose.”

 

It’s always according to His purpose – trust Him.

He is faithful and Just – trust Him.

He is the center of the universe – trust Him.

He is the Person who knows everything – trust Him.

He is the One giving you “mornings” and showing you His mercy – trust Him.

He controls everything under His mighty power – trust Him.

He provides everything – trust Him.

 

When the devil wants you to end your life – don’t listen to him.

 

Trust God for He never cheats you – trust Him.

Leave a Reply

